Day 2

Sore. Sore legs, quads, shins, calves, gluets, even sore bloody toes. I’m more unfit than I realised. That photo I stuck up was from three years ago, when I was still single and had time to run and gym regularly. I’ve attached a more recent, more truthful photos below, from our August visit to Shirai no taki (White Boar Waterfall) in the mountains of Matsuyama, Ehime, Japan.

Yes, I know my hair looks rather ridiculous, matched only by my Thai fishermen’s pants. That’s what happens to your sense of fashion when a) you’re on holiday, b) you’re married, and c) you’re married to a hairdresser who likes testing new colours on your crown.

Back to running. Today I ran for five minutes. Yep, just five damn minutes. I went to the gym, for the first time in an eon, at 7:30am and warmed up with punching the boxing bag and skipping and huffing and puffing in three minute rounds. Then I jumped on the eliptical jogger and spent 5 minutes trying to get the damn thing moving faster than a slow walk. Got going on a cardio workout, but every minute it would slow down to 4kph pace and beep at me to share my pulse with it. Strong impulse to share by boot with the machine. Instead  just kept pushing Speed Up until it ran at 10kph, until the next minute, then repeated every 60 seconds. After 5 minutes got fed up, planned to reset it, and couldn’t be bothered with the hassle. 5minutes still counts as a run for today (but only just!) and as it was with a 60 minute gym session, I’m glad I moved on and didn’t run myself late for work.

Not so glad about the effects of just two days exercise on my flabby middle-aged old body, but stoked to be getting back into it. Had the ravenous hunger of the active this afternoon, and enjoyed going to work with a clear head, feeling the pump. Will sleep well tonight too.

Rain is bucketing down now – I think tomorrow will have to be aqua-jogging day. Bit earlier in the plan than I had expected, but it still counts as a run even if it’s in the water, doesn’t it?

 

About 30daysrunning

A tubby bloke seeking to prove to himself that he can do something, however silly, for 30 days in a row.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

